Things that make me go….huh?

April 5, 2009

This actually should have been posted on Saturday, but I spent last night thinking it was Friday night, how I lost an entire day of the week, I do not know….

Things I learned this week:

1. Cold peanut butter chunks on cold apple slices is very delicious.

2. When running and pushing a double stroller with the wind at your back, you will think you are making great time.  BUT when you turn around to run home, it will be brutal.

3. Life is fragile and finite. (I didn’t actually just learn this, but it was definitely reiterated.) I spent a lot of time this week in reflection of where I want my life to be centered. How I want to feel when I look back on my life. I know not every day will be a party, I know I will still get frustrated over the small things sometimes, I know I will always have to work on being not being a grudge holder BUT I can choose to not be annoyed when Nate wakes up at 5:45 am and look at it as a special hour and a half that I get to love on him with no distraction (ahem, Scott). I want to end the day and feel like I was engaged and connected and made the effort to be present.

4. The bathroom window is NOT painted shut as I previously thought. I love windows in bathrooms.

5. 3 1/2 year olds do not understand that when a superman outfit goes in the washing machine it will take more than 5 minutes for it to be clean and dry again.

What did you learn this week?

4 Responses to “Things that make me go….huh?”

  1. Mike Says:

    I’m just glad you are the one pushing the stroller – not me.(she’s in better shape than me folks)

  2. Liz Says:

    I think having a second baby makes every mother have to come to terms with the early morning wake up. I simply would not do it with Finn. BUT, I have to now since she can wake Finn up and then all hell breaks loose. Let’s see, I learned that I am not very good at picking paint colors AND that sometimes it’s good to do nothing so that you can actually hear your soul when it tries to talk to you (evidentally it’s really quite).

    • Cori Says:

      The ability to pick out a good paint color on the first try is a fine tuned skill that is only acquired after years of practice. It is not as easy as one would think! I am also trying to be better at connecting, to myself and to others. We canceled cable so we will be better at connecting with each other (me and Mike that is!).

  3. Dana Says:

    Hmm…I learned that no matter how much I pray or try I may never be a good social person and in turn not make friends easily (gotta be His master plan). Some people have that nack, others just don’t. I was also reflecting you see, and thinking about how I’ve been here almost 2 yrs but don’t have any close friends. Sad realization when you are wanting a night out with friends and getting close to be stuck at home for a bit but don’t want to be isolated.
    I like your number 3. And 4 too, bathroom windows are great.


Leave a Reply

