Hug it out

April 21, 2009

We were lucky enough to meet Richard’s (Mike’s brother) girlfriend this weekend. She is from Spain and is absolutely adorable. She was sweet, funny, and my kids loved her too (the true test!). AND I got to feed her her first homemade chocolate chip cookie (okay I have been staring at the “her her” I just typed and it is bugging me, but I can’t think of how else to say it). I love how so many other cultures attack you with a hug and a kiss from the moment you meet, like you have been friends for years. It immediately puts you in a more comfortable frame of mind.

I have never been a super snuggly person and have gotten even less so since I have had kids. I mean, I am hugging them, holding them, rocking, nursing, kissing boo boos all day, by the end I am feeling a little claustrophobic. BUT I have decided to become a hugger. Andrea has inspired me.

It is a goal. I am getting rid of the awkward goodbyes and looking forward to having more happy hellos. So next time you see me, brace yourself, you’re gettin’ a hug and…if I am feelin’ saucy, maybe a kiss.

Life is too short to shake hands.

*Richard, I know you don’t read my blog. I know this because I asked you. Don’t worry, I won’t hold a grudge, just know that when I mail Andrea a package full of homemade cookies, it will include a note that says “Eat before Ricardo sees these.”

One Response to “Hug it out”

  1. Liz Says:

    I am with you on the claustrophobia by the end of the day! My hubby has definitely noticed. I have to explain that I am like a pie–the more my kids take during the day, the less he gets! There is only so much cuddling that can go around.


Leave a Reply

