Flu Season

April 22, 2009

You know that feeling when you spend the morning worried you are coming down with the flu only to realize in the afternoon that you are just so tired that your bones ache, I am there today.  I thought I understood tired before I had kids, but there is a level of exhaustion that only parents know. Because kids don’t care that you haven’t  slept through the night in over a year or that the baby is turning into a sleepaphobic or understand the worries that deplete our brain power, they only know here and now. And that is one of the things that makes them so beautiful, their ability to be completely present each moment of the day.

As I sat on the couch contemplating attempting a nap at rest time or more coffee (the coffee won…rest time is just too precious to waste being unconscious), I watched my kids play. I watched them giggle and smile and enjoy each other. I brewed another pot of coffee and reminded my self, this too will pass and when it does I will miss it. As tired as I am right now, I know I will get teary eyed  for the days when a zurbert in Nate’s neck rolls sent him into hysterics and Scott’s most prized possession was bamboo stick that some random kid at the park gave him.

So, I have put in my caffeine IV, I can sleep later… right? Really, I am asking, please tell me I will eventually feel rested….

5 Responses to “Flu Season”

  1. Christy Says:

    Other than the occasional nightmare, my kids sleep for 11 or 12 hours every night. And more importantly, so do I! (Ok, maybe not that long because of tv and veg time but you get the point!)

    IT WILL GET BETTER!!!

  2. Liz Says:

    I’ve been through that this week too. Not the flu, but the sleep-deprivation. How are you supposed to let a baby cry it out when there is a toddler asleep in the next room? Anyway, I hope you feel better. You WILL eventually get some rest, I promise!

    • Cori Says:

      That is exactly where I am, about the crying it out. I am not a fan of cry it out, but the waking up 3 times a night is getting old. I think I might do the-go in every 10 mins and lay them back down until they eventually fall asleep thing. That is what we ended up doing with Scott, he woke up once a night until he was 18 mths. I just can’t do the full on cry it out. The key with the going in every 10 mins, is never pick them up, just go in lay them back down, pat pat and walk back out. Let me know if you discover any magical solution!

      • Brenda Says:

        We did a modified Ferber with both kids. Go in at 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 15 minutes, or as needed, until they fall asleep. But no picking up. The thing with them, though, was that when we went in, they just got MORE worked up instead of less. But they knew we were there, and it worked. It’s not fun, but when nobody is sleeping, nobody is happy. Both kids and parents were actually more happy after we did it. I don’t know any other way or I’d let you in on it! Cash is sleeping from 7-8 until 6-7 every morning. Not trying to make you jealous, just trying to give you hope! Until we did the modified CIO, he was up 3 times a night, too, if not more. You’ll sleep again!

        And how in the WORLD do you have the energy to run when you are up all night? You’re my hero.


Leave a Reply

