Kiki- My obsession with Kristin Armstrong

April 29, 2009

I have a slight obsession with Kristin Armstrong. I think she is wonderful. No, I have never actually met her, but if I lived near her (Austin, TX) I would definitely stalk her.  Not in a scary stalker way, but in a if-she-would-just-get-to-know-me-we-could-be-friends kind of way (I know, still creepy, so I guess it is best that I don’t live by her after all….). She has an amazing running blog that is about so so so much more than just running. She also has an incredible  book.

I really could dedicate an entire blog to the ways that each of her blogs speak to me, but again with the creepy stalker profile…. Anyways, one of her points in her  latest post is finding and pursuing your passion. Which (as her writing always does) spoke right to me. I have been wondering a lot lately what my passion is. I know right now I am wrapped up in being a mom, but I don’t want to become a woman whose identity is so tied to her kids that she forgets who she is and looks in the mirror eighteen years later and doesn’t recognize herself. I love running, but, let’s be honest, I don’t have the time, energy, or desire to train and travel to races right now. I consider myself lucky to get my goal of four runs a week in. I would love to volunteer, but have had a hard time finding something I can do with kids and getting a volunteer coordinator to call me back in general (Gervase if you by some chance are reading this, please call me back, I would love to bring toys home to wash them…) I have tried scrap booking. No, thanks. I have tried getting crafty. Not so much. I am searching.

I feel like I used to know myself better. Pre kids and even pre marriage, when I got to be completely selfish. When I got to pursue my desires on a whim, with out coordinating schedules or feeling guilty for not being home. When I didn’t have to use my “free” time to simply have coffee with a friend. Aaahh, the days of ordering whatever I want at a restaurant with out having to think about splitting it with Scott. Having kids is one of the best decisions I have ever made, but I think I need to start making an extra effort to get to know myself again. I have a couple of passionate ideas, we’ll see…

What are your passions and how do you pursue them? (this is not a rhetorical question, I really would love to know how other people make it happen!)

4 Responses to “Kiki- My obsession with Kristin Armstrong”

  1. Liz Says:

    We both have Kiki posts within a day of each other. I think our brains are starting to meld…(even though they have nothing to do with one another) 🙂

    • Cori Says:

      That is funny about the Kiki posts. What am I thinking riiiiiggghhtt NOW? I love what you said about becoming more yourself after #2, that is exactly how I feel, or trying to figure out at least! I also love the boat idea, I think you should totally talk Scott into it. I would love to escape for awhile with just my family…

  2. Liz Says:

    I feel like I know myself SO much better since having 2 kids. It’s like when you put metal in a fire and it makes it’s true nature come out or something. With just Finn, I put myself on the back burner, but now that I have 2, for some reason my SELF is trying to get out more. My passions lately have been all about expressing myself creatively. Typical mom stuff mostly–sewing curtains, making picture frames, making my own body scrubs and cleaning supplies. I really want to learn more about sewing and quilting. And my main passion is reading. I just want to do it all the time! My main fantasy at the moment is to be stranded on a desert island with all the books in the world. I just find time for this stuff whenever the mood strikes. Usually after the kids are asleep, or whenever Kinley is napping and Finn is watching TV. Sometimes I let Finn help me with the sewing stuff.
    Other than that, I’m trying to figure out what my passions are. Like I said, I love reading and I’m really hoping to parlay that into a career at the library someday (far far away…). And of course there is always traveling. I’ve been trying to talk Scott into buying a boat and just cruising with the kids around the world (I actually met some people who did that once). I really doubt THAT’S going to happen!

  3. Brenda Says:

    Pretty much ditto on everything you said, minus the creepy stalker part! 🙂 Between working and kids, there is nothing else. I’ve had so much work lately that even when I’m home, I’m holed up in the office trying to work. Darryn and I have hardly spoken in 2 weeks. I give to work, I give to kids, I hardly give anything to Darryn, which is bad, and give nothing to myself. Sigh. I just keep thinking, “When they are in school”……. If you figure it out, let me know!


Leave a Reply

