Menu Plan Monday

May 11, 2009

I am not trying to brag, but the shredded beef tacos I made were awesome (okay, I am trying to brag, but when it comes to cooking I don’t get to do that every often.) I didn’t follow the recipe at all and just picked out random spicy things and they were….I am just going to go ahead and say it….the best thing I have ever made. Here is what I did:

Cori’s Spicy Shredded Beef

2 lb roast (there was enough juice for at least a 3 lber, which I will do next time and freeze part of it.)

2 cups beef broth (made from Better Broth mix)

2 cans San Marcos Chipotle Salsa

1 packet Nueva Cocina Picadillo Beef Seasoning

2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

1 red onion chopped in big chunks and pulled apart

Put the beef in the crockpot, mixed all other ingredients in a bowl and poured over the beef. Cooked on low for 8 hours. When there was about 3 hours left, I took the beef out, shredded it and returned it to the pot. (If you are home to shred it, I would try to shred it at least 30 mins before eating….)

*Just a note: This is the first recipe that I have ever made up.

It was super spicy (which we love) and I just rinsed the meat off before giving to the kids. We ate it in soft taco form, but it would have been good even just with rice. I will be making this often!

Okay, I am starting to drool, so moving on…. This week, my goal is as little clean up as possible. Why? Just because I am tired of cleaning. I am not very good at cleaning as I go so I end up with a huge mess at the end that I never feel like doing. (yes, Mike offers, but, to be honest, at this point in the day, I would rather clean the kitchen then play with the kids.)

Monday: Veggie Quesadillas w/ Guac

Tuesday: Chicken and Corn Chili (crockpot) w/ Steamed Broccoli

Wednesday: Calazones (didn’t end up making last week) w/ Asparagus

Thursday: Waffles, Scrambled Eggs, Fruit

Friday: Out To Eat or Frozen Ravioli I just found in the freezer and whatever veggies we have left over

Saturday: BBQ Pork Sandwiches w/ Salad (I am only to 1/2 the recipe, also, I might use pork loin instead???)

Sunday: Leftovers

Are you eating anything good this week? Also, does anyone know what “unconverted rice” means? I found a couple of crockpot recipes that call for it and I have no idea what that means, is it different from just normal rice? Have a great week and don’t forget about the other menu ideas at  Organizing Junkie!

6 Responses to “Menu Plan Monday”

  1. Melissa Says:

    One of my favorite, quick dinners is what we did last night.

    Sauteed Shrimp with a Cilantro Dipping Sauce.

    We get gulf shrimp…cause I can’t see supporting shrimp flown ALLLLLL the way from Thailand or Vietnam. A bit more expensive, but it tastes better. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and a little sugar (brings out the natural sweetness of the shrimp) and sautee in EVOO.

    Dipping sauce:

    3 Tbsp Light Coconut Milk
    1 Jalapeno
    1/4 cup Cilantro
    1/4-1/8 tsp Salt
    1 Tbsp Lime Juice

    Whiz it with a stick blender if you have one, otherwise a cuisinart will do fine.

    I could just about drink this sauce.

    I don’t know if this fits your budget…but it only takes about 10 minutes, so it will certainly fit anyone’s schedule.

    • Cori Says:

      That sounds great! (our budget is being adjusted!) Mike won’t eat shrimp, but I need to make this for my mom and myself for lunch sometime!

  2. Kaci Says:

    We’re having BBQ Tufu sandwiches with cole slaw on Wednesday. No meat at our house, but I wish we did because the shredded beef sounds awesome.

  3. bethany Says:

    Totally Agree on the beef! Ours was FANTASTIC… Although we made it differently than yours! What an awesome and easy dinner… The Goods will be eating a lot more beef tacos!


  4. […] Cori’s Spicy Shredded Beef Tacos (that’s right, I have my own […]


Leave a Reply

