Swim Lessons or Spy School

May 20, 2009

Scott had a full on rage out as we were leaving swim lessons today.

Dear Miller Swim School,

Why do you have a huge gumball machine? Why do you sell freshly baked Otis Spunkmeyer Cookies? Why Why WHY?

Don’t you know what a pain that is for the parents? Don’t you get sick of watching kids day after day throw a fit for a gumball? Or do you secretly use it as a advanced swimmer recruiting tool, do you have secret cameras set up to find the kid with enough self control to walk right past the gumballs with out even a glance toward the colorful cavity inducers… the kid who turns to his mom and says, “Those look good, but will it help me with my strokes? I think not.” And then you suck these children into your underground lifeguard training camps and use them to put all other swim schools out of business? I need answers.

Thank you,
Cori

Like I was saying, a rage out. After I shoved patiently buckled the rager in his car seat and started driving, the screaming started… “You pee-pee head mommy!” “You’re a stinky baby!” And all the other lovely things that 3 1/2 year olds come up with. I started calmly taking things away. “Now, you don’t get to watch a show after rest time.” “Now, you don’t get to have a book on tape at rest time.” Etc, etc. Then he started screaming, “I DON’T LOVE YOU ANYMORE!” Over and over. And I started crying. Not because he told me he didn’t love me (please, he’s three). But because I love him so much that my heart hurts.

The way I feel about my children is the only unconditional love I have ever known. There is nothing they could ever do that would cause my love to waver. I am sure, I will not always be proud of their decisions, I will not always support their decisions, but I will always love them.  My kids could break my heart in a million and one pieces and I would still love them higher than the heavens and deeper than the seas.

I am lucky to have had parents who feel the same way about me. My heart breaks for the kids out there that do not know this kind of love. Whose parents don’t fight for them. The kids know it. They’re smart.

Everyone needs to love and be loved completely. Everyone also needs to have a dog at some point in their life.

10 Responses to “Swim Lessons or Spy School”

  1. Martha Says:

    I wish they wouldn’t have those machines everywhere! But I have found a way to help them walk calmly by them..

    Them: Can we get (insert candy/ little toy machine here).

    Me: I don’t know it takes two quarters. Do you have two quarters?

    Them: no..

    Me: Me neither, so I guess no.

    somehow this works.

    • Cori Says:

      Ooohh, I like it. I will have to try that. Usually I just say, “No, not today.” I did tell him that he can get a gumball on the very last day of swim lessons. And I better have a quarter ready, he won’t forget!

  2. Jodee Wilsdorf Says:

    I totally agree! We went thru that all last at Miller too with the cookies especially. Not to mention what mess they make in the car with a wet child…as technically they are still a little “damp” even if you do dry them off and put on dry clothes.

    I’d like to add to your list….the “rides” – horses, Mickey Mouse firetruck, pig-type animal, etc. that they’ve so “graciously” added at EVERY Walmart Supercenter! As if the candy machines, toy aisle, etc. wasn’t enough as it is!

  3. Liz Says:

    I love your honesty about your kids and that you can write it up so eloquently. Some days I just stay in the house so that we can avoid those lovely melt-down scenes. I catch myself dreaming of the day the kids go off to school and realize I’ll probably regret not living in the moment so much. Blah.

    • Cori Says:

      It is hard not to feel that way! I just try to remember, when they are older, I know I will this these “baby” days.

  4. Lainee Says:

    Ahhhh, yes the dreaded gumball machine. I have graduated to pretend digging through my change and saying, “sorry, no quarters : ( ”
    I also mention to Kade if he would like to bring in the trash from the curb he could earn a quarter!
    Stupidy and Butt Squeek bottom are the words of the month over here… but these are the EASY years!
    : )

  5. bethany Says:

    Your boys are so lucky to have you as their mama!

  6. Carissa Miller Says:

    Just so you know….I was laughing out loud at the “pee-pee head mommy” part and thank you very much! I needed that laugh after the day I had in “potty-training hell.”


Leave a Reply

