Menu Plan Monday

June 15, 2009

Don’t forget Father’s Day is Sunday! (I actually did forget until I looked at my friend Heidi‘s blog and decided to steal the pie recipe that she is making for her husband on Sunday) I think the theme of this week is going to be SPICY, I don’t plan these things, they just happen. I just sit down think about what food sounds good to me (sometimes I ask Mike if he has any requests, rarely he does which means he is laid back about food or my food is so bad that he doesn’t even care, honestly either is okay, I don’t like to be bossed.)

OH! Did anyone make the BBQ Chicken Salad from last week?

I did. I thought it was okay, Mike was not a fan. I think it would have been better if I used spicy bbq sauce instead of  a sweeter version. Also, I tried to serve it on bread as a sandwich that evening and then the next day I had it for lunch with crackers. It was much better with the crackers.

Moving right along…

Monday: Chicken Tortilla Soup (there was a mix on sale at WF last week that I impulse bought, you just add water and chicken….)

Tuesday: Blackened Tilapia with Red Beans and Rice (packaged red beans and rice with corn added, my mom made this for my birthday dinner on Sunday and sent home the leftovers!)

Wednesday: No Mikey, I will be eating Leftover Chicken Enchildas (also from the bday dinner)

Thursday: Still No Mikey, I am feeling a Dinner at the Pool Night!

Friday: Sigh, STILL No Mikey, something random with the kids, probably something super healthy like hotdogs

Saturday: Breakfast for dinner (scrambled eggs with cheese and salsa and multigrain pancakes)

Sunday: Happy Father’s Day! Mike and my Dad both love chimichangas* so that is what I am making. My friend Andrea (or as Scott called her for a couple of years Angiea) gave me an awesome recipe a year or so ago, WE LOVE IT! and a Chocolate Pie because apparently that is Mike’s favorite pie.

See, I told you it was going to be a spicy week! What are you cooking this week? As always, check out Organizing Junkie!

*Andrea’s Awesome Shredded Beef Chimichangas

2lb roast

2 cups beef broth

3 tbsp red wine vinegar

2 tbsp chili powder

1 tbsp cumin

Other ingredients:

Shredded cheese

tortillas

queso sauce

Pop the roast in the crock pot, mix other ingredients and pour over top. Cook on low 8ish hours (take meat out, shred and add it back in for the last hour or so).

After meat is cooked: Preheat oven to 500 degrees. Melt a couple tablespoons of butter. Place meat and cheese in the tortilla roll up chimi style place on pan, brush tortilla with butter. Repeat until you have made all you need (obviously). Bake 8-10 mins. Pour warm queso over the top before serving.

5 Responses to “Menu Plan Monday”

  1. Liz Says:

    Mmmm…might have to try it.

  2. Martha Says:

    My menu plan for this week is not nearly as impressive..
    Monday-Sloppy Joes w/ corn and french fries
    Tues-Tacos Rice and Beans
    Wed-Pasta with geen beans and bread
    Thursday Grilled Chicken and salad and bread
    Friday- Homemade pizza

    I don’t plan for the weekends, Jeremy usually cooks or we wing it..

  3. Heidi Says:

    Cori
    This all looks yummy! I’m going to steal some for a future menu plan. I especially like the blackened tilapia with the red beans and rice idea. Let me know how your pie works out. FYI I usually opt out of the graham cracker crust and just buy a pillsbury one, the kind you unroll and bake. If you have one of those rotary cheese graters, that works great for putting chocolate shavings over the whole top. I just put chocolate chips in it. Simple simple.
    Heidi


  4. […] Chimichangas (freezer meal) but I linked the recipe just in […]


  5. […] Chimichangas (it isn’t Irish, but it is a different culture… does that count for something?) with […]


Leave a Reply

