Menu Plan Monday

June 29, 2009

Happy almost 4th of July! I love holidays, every holiday. It always means a celebration of some kind and more time with Mike, what’s not to love? This time last year, I was hoping Nate was about to be born (he was 10 days late) and I was huge. Mike told me that every day I was over due we would eat out for dinner, I don’t think he was expecting that to be ten dinners before I was induced, but it was still a special treat and made the time a little bit more fun! This year, I am thankful to be cooking and not 60 lbs heavier and eating out every night, it is a definitely the better side to be on. So have a happy holiday, I hope you get to enjoy some extra family time or at least some time off to relax and eat some watermelon, it’s good for you.

Monday: Burgers (the yummy ones from WF’s, ummm) and grilled veggies

Tuesday: Chicken-Fried Chops* (I am only making 3 chops, maybe 4 depending on the price)  w/ Sweet Potato Fries

Wednesday: Bagelinni (We love the bagelinni sandwich from Jason’s Deli, so I am trying to recreate it at home…we’ll see!)

Thursday: Blackened Chicken Caesar (didn’t end up having this last week)

Friday: Hopefully a date night, I am calling the babysitter in the morning

Saturday: 4th! Hotdogs, corn, watermelon, other fourthy type foods

Sunday: Leftovers or breakfast for dinner

*This recipe contains condensed soup. Most condensed soups contain lots of yucky ingredients so I went on the hunt for a homemade version and found this one at a blog called Passionate Homemaking (I do not consider myself a passionate homemaker, but she has lots of good organic/all natural ideas and tips that can be done on the cheap). I have used this recipe several times and it really is great. (I usually do 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 reg flour):

Condensed Creamed Soup Substitute

2 Tbsp. butter
2 Tbsp. olive oil
1/4 c whole wheat flour
1 tsp. salt or more to taste
12 fresh mush­rooms, chopped
2 cups of milk (less for a thicker soup)

Heat butter and oil then add flour and salt, stir­ring to make a roux. Add mush­rooms and cook about a minute, just to soften. Add milk and stir until thick­ened. This is a sub­sti­tute (and a great one at that!) for two 10 oz. cans cream of mush­room soup. To make cream of chicken, simply omit mush­rooms, add 1 tsp. chicken base (a paste, like bouil­lon but with­out the MSG) and sub­sti­tute half the milk with chicken broth or stock. To make cream of celery, sub­sti­tute celery for the mush­rooms and pro­ceed as listed above.

Check it double deck it: Organizing Junkie, for more recipe ideas…

Leave a Reply

