Le Tot

July 9, 2009

Nate (aka Tots, The Tot, Totsie, Totsie Botsie Bootsie, The Boss, Bossy, Le Tot, Tater Tot, Taters, Tater Two, Tates, Twos, and all the other wonderful nicknames we have given you),

I have a picture framed of myself, Mike, and Scott the summer Scott turned one. The picture is one of my very favorites, it is off center just enough that it looks like some else was supposed to be in the photograph. Three years ago, when I framed it, I knew I loved it for that reason. I adored our little family, but I knew in my heart, there was a missing person. You have made our picture complete. You were our missing person.

I remember the day I found out I was pregnant with you. I remember your ultrasound and finding out you were a boy. I remember discussing for hours with Mike about what we would name you. I remember waiting and waiting and waiting for you to get here. Finally we decided with our midwife if you weren’t here by July 10th (10 days late you little stinker) I would be induced.

One year ago today, I was waiting for Mimi and Poppy to come to Edmond to stay with Scott. That evening, we sat around STILL deciding on your name. It was killing me that Scott’s name held so much meaning and the name we had picked for you didn’t. Mimi mentioned Keener was a family name with out saying where the name came from. We loved it. It had been her mother’s maiden name. You, Nathan Keener, were born exactly 45 years to the day that my grandmother Annabell Keener Melton passed away. I never got to meet her, but I know a part of her is in you and your name and birthday now hold an extra significance in my heart.

You are a little fire ball. You are rowdy enough and loud enough to keep up with your big brother, which is not an easy task. You know what you want and when you want it. When we try to do baby signs with you, you lean forward, look us in the eyes, slam your little hands and scream. As in, “I get it. I don’t want to do it. You know what I want. Give it me NOW.” And you are loud. You are oh so loud. You laugh loud, you cry loud, you talk loud. And you don’t give in. These are all qualities I know will serve you well (once you learn how to apply them!). You will get what you want out of life. You will go up against a fight and you will not back down. I hope I am a good enough parent to guide you to fight the worthy fight.

You also have the love bug side. The side that sighs with exhaustion and melts into a hug. You will do great things. Whatever you choose to do, whoever you choose to become, you will do it with passion.

I love you. I love your ski slope nose. I love your open mouth kisses. I love your chubby cheeks. I love that you point to where you want to go. I love your grunts. I love when you roar like a lion. I love that your first word was “Uh Oh!” I love that you refuse to walk and even when you accidentally stand on your own you quickly catch yourself and immediately sit back down. I love your smile and your laugh and your energy.

I love you higher than the heavens and I love you deeper than the seas. I will always love you, no matter what.

Tomorrow, you will be one. Happy 1st Birthday.

PS Get your beauty sleep tonight. We have a big day planned for you!

5 Responses to “Le Tot”

  1. Sarah Says:

    So sweet!

  2. Amy Says:

    What a love letter!

  3. Carissa Says:

    Happy Birthday Tots! Emmy can’t wait to see you and tell “Baby Nate” Happy Birthday!

  4. Liz Says:

    I love your blog! So cute!

  5. Pam Says:

    I love you, Cori. I also love Nathan Keener Lyon. Thank you for honoring my mom, even though you didn’t get to meet her.


Leave a Reply

