Bigs

August 9, 2009

Scott (aka Scott te da, Bigs, Biggie, Bro Bro),

I adore you more than you will ever know. Part of me can’t believe that you will be four tomorrow and part of me feels like you have been in my life forever.

Over the last year, the pirate obsession has grown instead of fizzled, a new obsession with guns and skateboards has been added to it, you tried preschool and gymnastics and swim lessons, you learned how to jump off the diving board alone (aided by a life jacket), you have decided that clothing is optional (except for undies), you became a big brother, you have moved again, you have decided you don’t like melted cheese, you have gotten braver and stronger and funnier.

I love how your left eye gets droopy when you are tired, that one of your favorite dinners is fish and rice, that your eyelashes are so long that when you get bath tub bubbles in them they stick to the top of your eyelids. I love your laugh, the way you look when you are concentrating, the way the more we try to talk you into doing something, the more you resist. I love the way you would wrestle anyone, any time, any place, but you also chew the inside of your cheek when you see someone upset. I love that when I see you in the morning the first thing you say is, “Good morning princess.” You are smart, stubborn, witty, focused, and creative.

You are still in the age of innocence, I want to hang on to that forever. You will do great things with your life. I know it. Whether you become a fire fighter, a bug killer, a pirate (although, to be honest, I am hoping against the latter) you will do it with passion and excitement. You brighten my day and my life.

I have loved getting to know you these last four years. I can’t wait to see what your future holds.

I love you higher than the heavens. I love you deeper than the seas. I will always love you, no matter what.

Tomorrow you will be four. Happy 4th Birthday!

2 Responses to “Bigs”

  1. Mike Lyon Says:

    best family – ever!

  2. Pam Says:

    I agree with Mike, best family ever.


Leave a Reply

