Early Morning

November 25, 2009

I ran the Route 66 Half Marathon on Sunday. It was wonderful. Perfect weather, I was happy with my time, but the best part was hearing my babies (Mike included) cheering for me.

I had told Mike that if the kids woke up in time and he wanted to get everyone to the race that was great, but not to feel obligated. I wasn’t doing the girl thing of saying the opposite of what I wanted, I really meant it. The race started at 7:30 and I totally know how hard it is to get everyone out the house before 8:30, let alone find a parking spot, unload both kids, walk downtown, and fight the crowds at the finish line. So I didn’t get my hopes up that they would be at the finish line.

Hearing your husband scream your name, while simultaneously holding your four year old up so he can see you, snapping pictures and holding the double stroller containing your sixteen month steady with his knee is a beautiful beautiful sight.

A couple steps down the line, my parents (my mom kicked booty in her 5k by the way) were cheering me on.

I was smiling so big crossing the finish line it hurt.

To say I feel lucky sounds so cliche. I have a husband who cheers me on, supports me, encourages me and most of is proud of me. I have a four year old that after my race told me, “You were so fast, you did so good. You were so great, you even got a medal!” I have a sixteen month old that does the happy grunt when we sees me and wants to hug me, sweaty pig tails and all. I have parents who got to the race 3o minutes earlier than they needed to be there for my mom’s race (when you are talking about waking up at 5:30 am, 30 minutes is a lifetime!) just to be there for my start.

I have legs that run. I have a heart that beats. I have a healthy family. I have happy kids. I have a loving husband.

Sometimes you have those overwhelming moments that knock your breath out in a good way. Today was one of those days. I observed my life from a distance and really liked what I saw.

6 Responses to “Early Morning”

  1. Jenny Babington Says:

    Not to be a dork, but this pretty much brought tears to my eyes.

  2. Emily Says:

    So I am a dork too, I am tearing up at the office, so sweet! It is always good to remember all that we have, and in sync with the season, what to be so thankful for!

  3. Lainee Says:

    Tears in my eyes too! This is so sweet!
    Congrats on the awesome life moment!!!

  4. maren Says:

    love reading your blog posts, Cori! Such a sweet post too! I made my husband come over and read it over my shoulder after he heard me awwwwwing. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Liz Says:

    You are inspirational! I jogged Thanksgiving morning because of you (I haven’t done it since…). Anyway, it’s really cool that you and your mom share an interest in running.

  6. Pam Says:

    I’m so proud of you!


Leave a Reply

