Menu Plan Monday

December 7, 2009

Okay, why didn’t anyone tell me I was making way TOO MUCH from scratch last week?! I felt very homemakerish, but it got a little old. The good part was I made tons of food! We ate leftovers for two nights so I saved one of my recipes from last week for this week.OH OH OH! The Fish Chowder was great! Definitely recommend it.

My kids are weird little eaters. Scott being the pickiest at this stage in his life. I  mean, he no longer eats melted cheese (only on pizza) who doesn’t like melted cheese???!!!! I usually make him try some of what we are eating and then most of the time end up making him something different. And yes, I know most of you are screaming at the computer, “What is wrong with you? Make him eat dinner. He isn’t going to starve himself.” I hear you. And I know. But that is much easier to do when your four year old actually weighs more than 30 lbs and is above the 3rd percentile. Moving on, I was thinking to myself, what does Scott actually LIKE to eat? Meat/Chicken/Fish, rice, tortillas and various fruit and veggies. The meat can not be mixed with anything or sauced up and the sad part is, we rarely eat “meat” on its own. Organic meat is not cheap so I try to put it in things that will go further than just one meal. But this week will be a test for Scott.

Monday: (this is not really a Scott meal, but I can’t make it to the store until Tuesday ;)) Spanish Chicken Rice Bake (this is the one I didn’t have to make last week!) with salad

Tuesday: Fajitas (does anyone have a good seasoning or recipe they recommend?) with Spanish Rice

Wednesday: Breakfast for Dinner (sausage, pancakes, eggs) with fruit

Thursday: Honey Chicken Kabobs, grilled veggies, and rice

Friday: Grilled Steak, potatoes for Mike and I, Tater Tots for the kids, and Sauteed Spinach

Saturday: Date Night!

Sunday: Leftovers

Wish me luck in my making-a-meal-for-the-whole-family mission! As always, I love suggestions!

7 Responses to “Menu Plan Monday”

  1. bethany Says:

    I LOVE the premixed fajitas from the meat counter at WF. Occasionally they go on sale – and its cheaper than buying the meat, peppers and onions. I think they also have some of the seasonings back there for sale that they use…at least at mine. The seasoning that I love there is tequila lime – or something like that.

    • Cori Says:

      Thanks! I will check it out… Do they always have it? I don’t think I have ever noticed it…

      • bethany Says:

        They don’t always have the premixed stuff, but I am pretty sure they always have the seasoning. Let me know if you can’t get the seasoning at yours and I will pick up some for you here.

  2. Faith Says:

    Have you tried beans? I have a non-cheese eater who loves all kinds of beans (black, kidney, navy, pinto). It’s a good way to replace the protein in meat for a fraction of the cost.

  3. Sarah Says:

    I love the fajita seasoning packet at WF in the white packet with green lettering. Have no idea the brand, but always recognize the package. Yumola! I have to agree with Faith on the beans. We made garbanzo bean burgers tonight and baked them in the oven. Super healthy. Only thing is I should have used breadcrumbs instead of oatmeal because they fell apart a little too easily. I’ve been using beans a lot lately. I think dinner tonight cost maybe $2 extra than normal staples like onions, spices, oatmeal, egg to make if you don’t count the salad we had on the side. Very filling too.

    • Cori Says:

      Faith and Sarah….
      Beans are definitely on the if-I-eat-this-I-will-die-list! They probably rank higher than melted cheese! I am thankful he at least eats fruit and veggies….
      PS The bean burgers sound great….

  4. Martha Says:

    Glad to know I’m not the only one with kids/food issues, avrah has stopped eating just about everything except peanut butter and jelly, and the babies are just as bad, hoping it’s a phase they outgrow soon. H and M are finally in the 5th percentile !


Leave a Reply

