S.A.D. (I have it.)

December 10, 2009

This is complaining. I recognize it  and I own it. I am giving myself the next 15 minutes (or however long it takes me write this) to complain and then I am tucking it all away for until I am able to bust out my flip flops again.

I do not like the winter. I believe Christmas is celebrated in the winter to make the season bearable. Here are the reasons why I wish it was summer:

1. Dry skin. Enough said.

2. Having to wear more clothes.

3. Having more laundry because winter clothes take up more room.

4. Having to add 15 mintues onto the routine in order to bundle everyone up to get out of the house.

5. Less outside time. Which leads to more inside time. Which leads to claustrophobia.

6. The pool isn’t open.

7. It is cold.

8. Having to wear socks.

9. Running with frozen hair is not fun. It takes the entire day to feel warm again.

10. Winter clothes are not as cute as summer clothes.

11. No outside projects.

12. No evening walks or nights on the deck.

13. More TV watching.

14. Uglyer trees and grass.

15. The pool isn’t open.

16. Seeing friends less. (that might be the fault of school but I am choosing to blame winter)

17. Less sunglass choices. Which, I totally don’t get. Just because it is cold doesn’t mean we don’t need sunglasses!

18. No grilling outside.

19. Less day light hours.

20. Less to do with kids.

21. Ice.

22. Humidifiers. Our bedrooms all sound like we are on life support.

23. More eating with less exercising.

24. Harder to have people over. Totally my opinion, but it is easier to have families over when the kids can run wild outside while the adults hang out. If you have two families, that is about 6 + kids plus 6 adults that is a lot of people to be stuck inside. (at least at our house!)

25. More stuff to deal with. When I went to WF the on Tuesday our cart was full before we even started shopping. 2 coats, 2 hats, one puffy vest, diaper bag, and shopping bags. Ugh.

26. The pool isn’t open.

That is all I can come up with right now. I am sending these complaints out into the world to brighten your day.

3 Responses to “S.A.D. (I have it.)”

  1. Carissa Says:

    AMEN!!!! I feel the same way especially about trying to kids three kids in coats and hats in and out of the car. IT SUCKS!

  2. Liz Says:

    I feel the same way. I usually get pretty depressed by January. I feel really guilty not doing as much with the kids outside and I get cabin fever easily b/c of said guilt. This year, I am trying to take the winter “off” and tell myself that the cold weather was made for sitting inside, watching movies and eating.
    P.S. You know it’s bad when you tell your husband, “I have to go to Incredible Pizza tomorrow or I am going to freak out!”

  3. Mary Shack Says:

    Every once in a while I feel like I really want to move back to Tulsa, until I think about Winter…I have sympathy s.a.d. for you!


Leave a Reply

