So it Begins….

January 5, 2010

I am trying something new… Actually putting a picture on my blog! I know, I know the bounds of my creativity are endless. Some of you have already seen this on my face book page for those of you who have not…. enter…

The Bribe Chart:

Bribery at its Finest

I have listened to your advice, and made the first reward after three stickers (one week). For those of you that need help interpreting my mad art skills:

1,2,3 (stickers)= Cooking a special treat. This was actually Scott’s idea. My original drawing was depicting staying up late (get it, a smiley face in bed?!) but he didn’t like that idea.

4,5,6= Getting to watch a long movie and eat ice cream after school. That’s right child psychologists, I am bribing my child with TV AND FOOD! (I also potty trained with candy…. COME AND GET ME!)

7,8,9= A new game for the Wii. Mike promised this one with out checking with me. I am cheap and like cheap bribes, he is 4! (honestly, Mike wants a new game and using Scott as his pawn ;))

I explained the system to Scott as this… It is okay to be sad about school. We all have to do things we don’t want to do sometimes. BUT everyday you go to school with a positive attitude and with out complaining, you get a sticker on your chart! And, ahem, as you will notice… one sticker on already!

My goal was, I don’t want him to feel like he can’t be sad or express how he is feeling, but I do want to cut some of the drama.

Thanks everyone for all your help and advice through this school adventure!

4 Responses to “So it Begins….”

  1. Faith Says:

    I potty trained with candy as well. A couple of my girls got really good at holding just enough in to go again in 5 minutes so they could get another piece. Hahaha!
    Congratulations on the first sticker day!!!!

  2. Liz Says:

    That is awesome! I love the simplicity of it. I have seriously been looking at buying a $40 reward chart online and now I feel like a boob. I think I am going to work up the same sort of thing for Finn for the potty.


  3. […] stickers on the Bribe Chart and the first reward was obtained! Making his "reward" (chocolate pretzels) note the […]

  4. Brenda Says:

    Very quickly – yea on school being better! And I also don’t believe you should tell them how they can or can’t feel. If I ask Caleb if he’s feeling shy or even look like I might say the word shy, Darryn freaks. He was kind of a withdrawn kid and DOES NOT want Caleb to be shy. So if Caleb says he’s feeling shy about something, Darryn just says, “No, you’re not.” I think I’ve finally pounded it into his head that he can’t dictate Caleb’s feelings, but can teach him how to appropriately deal with them. So it’s, “Its okay to feel X, but it’s NOT okay to deal with it this way. Instead, try dealing with it THIS way.” Works for Caleb! Love the chart – you’re so creative!
    OH, (so much for short) I’m totally going to make my kids emotional eaters. I’ve just decided I’ll pay for the nutritionist later to reprogram them. I use food as rewards and to calm tears and all kinds of totally inappropriate reasons. Sometimes you gotta do the best you can with what you have to work with, and sometimes treats are all I have to work with!


Leave a Reply

