It’s all in the name

January 28, 2010

Not to get all The Secret on you but, I do believe most things in life can be spoken into existence. If you believe you can become it, you can and you will. If you believe you are _____ then you will become _______. The good and the bad.

That is why I am totally stealing this idea from my friend Jennah. She has three adorable boys and made these for them. She said that she and her husband read the boys their name posters every evening and now her two older boys have them memorized (I think the ages are 5 and 3?). I just loved the idea and of course had to copy it so my boys will know they are just special as the Gassid boys ;).

She also put each boys “verse” on their pages, but I haven’t gotten that far. But I am going to snazz them up a little by letting the kids decorate them.

It warms my heart to think that in my babies subconscious, every time he sees his name, one of these traits will pop into his head. It is also a sneaky way to talk about character and what each of these words means every evening.

Thanks Jennah!

*Just in case the picture isn’t as clear to you… here is what it says….

Strong

Courageous

Optimistic

Trustworthy

Thoughtful

Noble

Ardent

Truthful

Empathetic

PS I just learned that you can change text color on a blog.

9 Responses to “It’s all in the name”

  1. Lori Says:

    Love This!!! I just might have to copy you and do the same.

  2. Liz Says:

    Awesome. I bet Finn would love this. He loves his name.

  3. Carissa Says:

    OK…this is a really cute idea but lucky for you, your kid’s names only have 5 and 4 letters. What the heck am I going to do for E-A-S-T-O-N and E-M-E-R-S-O-N?!?! I think you need to help me! Also….your friend Jennah, is her husband’s name Jafaar? If so, we know them. He played baseball with Michael in college.

  4. Pam Says:

    Love this !

  5. Kassidy Says:

    So Cool!! I will definitly be borrowing this one!

  6. Liz Says:

    Cannot come up with anything for Y in McKinley! I’m thinking of just doing friendlY.

  7. alliwaw Says:

    This is a wonderful idea! I am going to make them for my nieces and nephew… Thanks for the idea!


Leave a Reply

