Cupid Eats

February 7, 2010

I have been a blog slacker this week. My best friend of 18 years (or 19, I can’t remember if we met in 5th or 6th, which we should figure out because I think a celebration is in store when we hit year 20!) has been going through what I would say has been the hardest week of her life. It is not my story to tell, so I won’t tell it, but my every still thought has been a prayer for her and her family. I also have had sick kids wiping a lot of boogers on me so my mind has been distracted. In the midst of sadness I have I had a renewed sense of love for those close to me and have held my babies a little tighter. Which is fitting since this is Valentine’s Week!

You know those mom’s that are really good at doing cool crafts and cooking projects with each holiday…. I envy those moms. I don’t plan ahead enough and then at the last minute I think “Oh oh oh, let’s do this” and we don’t have the supplies to do it. SO this Valentines I am trying…. I am hiding a heart with special message for each boy around the house that they get to hunt for every day (for the week). We always have pizza and wine for Valentine’s Day dinner. So I bought these:

To make the kids drinks a little more fun I am going to add red juice heart cubes to apple juice. I am going to have Scott help me make these cupcakes for Valentine’s dessert. AND last but not least. I am going to break out the glitter (shudder) and let Scott make his own Valentines to take to his friends at school. I know you crafty moms are thinking, “Big deal lady, I dress up as Cupid on Valentines morning and put on a play about the life of Saint Valentine while simultaneously making homemade heart shaped scones.” I applaud you, I bet you also didn’t just spend 5 minutes re arranging the letters in “simultaneously” trying to get spell check to recognize the word enough to correct it. You win (but my kids are still cooler). Maybe not smarter judging by the video below…. but still cooler….

Okay, the point of this post. Menu plannin’.

Monday: One Pot Spaghetti* (I am also going to add pepperoni to mine)

Tuesday: Baked (but actually kind of fried) Pork Chops (double the sauce to use as topping for mashed potatoes), Mashed Potatoes, Asparagus

Wednesday: Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Thursday: I feel the need to cook something boring tonight since I am trying 3 new recipes in a row. Soooo, it will be French Toast, Eggies (as Nate says), Fruit

Friday: Date Night

Saturday: Leftovers

Sunday: Happy Valentine’s Day! (I actually wrote Happy Vday but from some reason that sounds a little inappropriate) Heart Shaped Pizza (Thank You Papa Murphys) Wine, Salad, and Dessert

PS The Crispy Beef and Broccili from last week was a hit! As was the Tom Ka Gai soup, although, I did add extra cayenne and it was to spicy for the kids.

*One Pot Spagetti

2 tbls oil

1 onion minced

1/2 lb lean ground beef, turkey, pork sausage, or turkey sausage

1 tsp dried basil

1tsp dried oregano

1 14 ounce jar spaghetti sauce

1 8 ounce can tomato sauce

Salt and Pepper

8 ounces dried pasta (I use fusilli to pretend the dish is fancier than it actually is) (the author wrote that, but that is what I am going to try)

2 cups water

Grated Parmesan to top (optional)

Heat oil in large pot and saute onion until translucent. Add meat and herbs and cook slowly. Drain fat if you feel like it. Add sauce and sauce and cook, stirring, for a couple of minutes. Add salt and pep to taste. Add pasta and water. Bring to boil. Lower heat and cover pot, simmer for 1/2 hr. Stir frequently to make sure it scorch bottom. If it looks to dry add up to 1/2 cup water, but you are unlikely to need to do that.


4 Responses to “Cupid Eats”

  1. martha Says:

    Another fun thing to do with those ice trays…http://thetoddlerwhisperer.blogspot.com/search/label/hearts
    I’m so doing this, I’m sure you have lots of crayon pieces around too.

  2. Faith Says:

    My 4 & 2 yr olds walk around (& into things) with blankets over their heads as well.

    We’ve done the melty crayons with mini-muffin tins before. The hearts would be so fun. I think I have some dolphin shaped ice-cubers, maybe I’ll try it for hm….what’s a holiday that celebrates dolphins?


  3. […] I almost wore a tank on Tuesday just to somehow will summer into getting here faster. Remember on Monday how I had all sorts of fun Valentiney things to do? FLOP. Major flop. Tomorrow for Scott’s […]


Leave a Reply

