Communion

February 18, 2010

Since we have been on a church hiatus for the last year or so, last week was the first time I have had communion in at least a year. I forgot how refreshing it is. I grew up in a church that took communion weekly, and I kind of wonder why all churches don’t partake or commune or whatever the word is every week, it is good for the soul.

I love that moment right before you take the bread that your head bows, your eyes close and you get to sigh, knowing it is a new beginning. I love the feeling of a fresh start. I love New Years Resolutions and spring cleaning. I love the freedom in letting go.

No matter your religious views, as people and especially as parents, we all need that fresh start. Maybe I am the only screw ball that needs it once a week, but we all need it. We all need the freedom to know that mistakes are correctable and mindless choices don’t have to determine the entire course of our lives or even our day. I can’t control my friends, my husband, circumstances or even my kids but I can control myself. My reactions, my attitudes, my spirit, my faith. I have to the ability at any time to make amends, ask forgiveness, let go, change a path, and wipe that slate clean.

I needed that reminder this week.

3 Responses to “Communion”


  1. thank you for sharing 🙂 good stuff

  2. Pam Says:

    I love communion. Thank you, God.

  3. Jan Says:

    Cori — Communion touched my spirit. As a person who needs a “do over” on a daily basis, I loved your thoughts.!


Leave a Reply

