$20 Pride

February 22, 2010

Were those couple of sunny days last week heaven or what?! March equals Spring, right? I mean, winter will end really really soon, right? RIGHT?!

Menu planning is not coming easy this week. I have no idea why. It might be Rob Lowe pulling my attention away from the computer with his dynamic acting in the Lifetime movie, “To Late To Say Goodbye”, and yes, it is as fabulous as it sounds, and no, I have no shame. In fact, last week, I actually did this:

Me: (walk into the BabyGap with 2 kids in tow that are spazzing)

Me: Hi, I have a couple returns, but I want to walk around a little bit!

Sales Girl: OKAY!

Me: (running around sweating and wrangling kids, trying to check out the sale rack before a full out spaz happens)

Sales Girl: (keeps coming by and making sure I am “okay”)

Me: Okay, I am ready now!

Sales Girl: GREAT!

Me: Ummm, I know this kind of tacky. But last week, I bought a couple of things and when I got home, I checked the mail and I had a coupon for 25% off, sooooo, I actually want to return some of these things and buy them back with my coupon.

Sales Girl: (looking at me like I am crazy) What?

Me: (explain again)

Sales Girl: How long have you had this stuff?

Me: Like two or three days. Is there a problem?

Sales Girl: (looking at me like I am the tackiest person to ever walk into BabyGap) Well, I mean, I guess not.

Me: Great!

AND yes, there was a line behind me.

I was pretty proud of myself and told Mike the story later, he said, “How much money did you save?” I replied, “Well, ACTUALLY, some of the stuff had gone on sale even more and then I used my coupon sooo about $20!” Mike: “So your pride is worth about $20?” Me: “Basically.” Mike: “Are you embarrassed a little?” Me: “NO, why should I be?” Mike: (staring at me like I am the tackiest person to ever walk into BabyGap)

Monday: Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Tuesday: Dinner at my parents

Wednesday: Slow Cooker French Dip with Salad

Thursday: Breakfast Burritos (I am only going to use 1/2 lb sausage 1 lb seems a little too sausagey) (I am also going to add chopped bell pepper and onion)

Friday: Out to Dinner

Saturday: Grilled Chicken Nachos

Sunday: Leftovers

Any good recipes out there?

11 Responses to “$20 Pride”

  1. Kendra Says:

    I watched that movie last night on Lifetime and it was a GREAT movie…. As far as the coupon thing don’t feel bad if I buy something at Target and it goes on sale the next week I will sometimes take my receipt in and get the price difference.

  2. nina wills Says:

    Good for you, Cori! $20.00 is $20.00. Money doesn’t grow on trees. That sales girl earned her money & your hubby works hard for his too! Need more thrifty gals like you!

  3. Brenda Says:

    Don’t be embarrassed, girlfriend. I’ve done the same thing, and I’d brag about the money I saved by doing it. And most stores have price protection for up to two weeks, so if you buy something and it goes on sale afterwards, all you have to do is bring your stuff and receipt in and they automatically give you the difference back! And that’s a POLICY, so they shouldn’t give you any grief about it! $20 is $20!

  4. Carissa Says:

    I think the important question here is why the sales girl was looking at you like that is an unusual request?!?! I do that all the time! If you are tacky, then I am tacky too!

  5. Sarah Says:

    I would have totally done the same thing, except had 3 kids spazzing. My pits get sweaty just thinking about all the wrangling.

  6. bethany Says:

    That french dip recipe is yummy. We enjoy it often. You can add roasted red peppers to it if you want to jazz it up a little … just a thought=)

  7. Kassidy Says:

    Love it!! My question is Why wasn’t the sales girl applauding you…man, she has a lot to learn! Thanks for the recipes…can’t wait to try the French Dip

  8. Faith Says:

    Clearly the sales girl doesn’t have kids (& the expenses that come with them). $20 is definitely worth the wrangling & spazzing. That is nothing to be embarrassed about.

  9. RebekahC Says:

    Girl, a bargain is a bargain! I’d be right there beside you doing the same thing if I were in the same shoes. Way to go on saving yourself some cash! *wink*

    And, btw, your menu sounds great!

  10. Cori Says:

    I was pretty proud of myself for saving $20! I don’t get embarrassed about that kind of stuff…. I also send food back if I don’t like it ;).

    PS The French Dip was awesome!

  11. Melissa Robinson Says:

    Dude. That’s totally GENIUS!!! Why haven’t I thought of that!


Leave a Reply

