Scott Uncut/Nate in the Raw

February 25, 2010

Oh, kids. Silly, crazy, mind boggling kids. Nate is 19 mths right now and Scott is 4 1/2. We are all counting down until summer and I have sufficiently brain washed Scott and he now says, “I just CAN’T wait for the pool to open!”. He also has had some pretty awesome quotes lately…

Scott and Nate hold hands in the car (which melts my heart every time I see it). It is so sweet and the other day Scott said, “Nate, I love holding your hand. Your little hand gets all sweaty and keeps my hand warm.” Nate was just looking at him laughing.

We also have had lots of interesting discussions about the Olyimpics. Ice dancing has become a house favorite because of the hilariously awesome costumes. And seriously, if a 4 year old can see it on TV and says, “WHAT are those boys wearing?!” I think it may be time to tone down the drama a bit. While we were watching he said, “Those giwls (girls) are so beautiful and fancy.” And then when I put him to bed I was laying with him and he said, “Mom, you are so beautiful, just like an ice dancer.” I am not ready for this stuff.

Nate has been cracking us up lately too. These are the people he has called, “Mama”

Paula Dean is beautiful…but…maybe in 30 years?! And yes, that is a female speed skater. I would be annoyed, but I think she won a medal, so I guess it is okay.

And this is apparently Mike’s doppelganger.

I am not joking. Every time we read this Elmo’s Colors book and we get to the Count Von Count page, Nate points at him and says, “Dada!”. I even said, “Nate, does that look like Dada?” And he gives me his serious eyes, nods his head, and says, “Yep.” He even does it when Mike is actually reading the book.

Nate has also expanded his vocab from just “cookie” to lots of new fun words including, “Uhoh daisy!” His first two word combo was at the puffies when he was mad I wouldn’t give him a jelly bean and the mother of his favorite named friend (Coco) asked him what I did to him and he looked up at her with crocodile tears and said, “Mama apple!” (yes, he calls jelly beans apples, actually, he calls lots foods that have no fruit type relation, “apples”).

Scott, who has despised eggs forever and Nate who loved eggs, have apparently switched taste buds. Let’s see, what else is new…

Scott has embarked on a new Star Wars obsession, it might be replacing the two year pirate obsession. School is going great! Switching schools was a wonderful decision for him and he has grown so much.

Scott is still Nate’s best friend and he follows him where ever he goes. In the last month or so, they have started really playing with each other and I love it! Never in a million years would I have thought I would have had an 18 month old that knows how to sword fight and point and “shoot” a gun. I also never thought I would have a “weapon basket” but apparently these things happen when you have two boys.

That is the kiddo update for now. We love them more than we ever knew possible.

6 Responses to “Scott Uncut/Nate in the Raw”

  1. Sarah Says:

    You know the statue at Hardesty library of the guy sitting down, reading a paper and drinking a coke? Yeah….both of my older 2 run up to the statue and hug it screaming, “Daddy!” I get my fair share of strange looks from people.

  2. Liz Says:

    Very cute. I’m glad school is better. Kiki calls everyone “Mommy” and “Daddy” and rarely gets the gender straight. I must admit I’m a little pleased when she points to Belle from Beauty and the Beast and lets out a big “MOMMY!” It’s all I’ve ever wanted.

  3. Faith Says:

    Mike does kindof look like the Count.

    I have 3 girls & only one boy, and we still have lots of weapons. Be careful with the Star Wars. Eventually they’ll get to the point where they try to use the force to clean up the toys.

    I’m glad Scott’s school switch has been so good.

  4. Kristin Says:

    Oh my gosh I just laughed ’til I cried about the two people Nate called Mama. I don’t know why but that hit me as hilarious! Thanks for a good belly laugh Cori

  5. Carissa Says:

    Is it the hair Taylor (I mean, Cori?) The hair is the only similarity I see between Paula and the ice dancer…big, fluffy hair…although Paula’s is gray and the ice dancer’s hair is black…it has the same big, fluffiness.


Leave a Reply

