Gettin’ Crafty

March 1, 2010

So I have decided to get a little crafty. My requirements are: projects that don’t take up much room, don’t take to long to complete and don’t require a sewing machine. I don’t know what has brought this on, but I am just going with it. My first project will be this….

It is from the blog Poopscape Projects that I kind of love just because the name is Poopscape but I also love it because of the easy projects. I think I am going to do pink and white pom flowers on sticks. I might move on to the Gold Leaf  Rocks! project next (same site) but here is the real kicker… I have decided to embroider. I might be very very wrong, but it looks kind of easy. I mean, I am sure there are more intense projects, but it seems like something that could be easy to learn and have easy beginner projects. Also, no sewing machine, not a lot of space required, and no mess. I mean, I am almost 30, I should have some sort of homemaker craft going on. I am envisioning, fun sayings with funky colors and designs. I saw a really cute one that said, “You lie like a rug.” yet was embroidered with flowers, it cracked me up. I also say one that simply said, “WTF”, which also cracked me up, mostly because I am really mature. I can see pirate pillows, cute dish towels, and maybe a nice Kleenex box cover (although that might require sewing). Tips? Ideas? Encouragement?

PS I will post some pics next week of my progress. Promise not to laugh. Well, you can laugh, but only nicely.

Totally unrelated, but a friend from high school wrote this on his blog this week and I loved it… “What you do while you’re waiting for your dream determines if that dream will ever come to pass.”

For some reason, I didn’t get to a lot of my recipes this week. It didn’t seem like we ate out any more, I don’t know what happened. OH, I take that back. Nate has been screaming all week. He threw up Tuesday afternoon, only once, but has been in a horrible mood ever since and won’t eat. Most of you know my food obsession when it comes to my skinny minnies, so he actually has eaten breakfast in the morning and a big bowl of ice cream at night for the last two days…. and that is all. Sigh, I don’t really know what to do. I am going to give him one more day before I call the doctor.

Recipe Review: Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup- Not good. It got great reviews, but we did not like the flavor. I can’t really explain why, but I will not be making it again. French Dip Sandwiches- Big hit! Very easy and very yummy. The meat was good even on it own, it would make a good dish paired with some veggies and rice.

Monday: Nachos, didn’t get to these last week. I am going to use some of the leftover meat from the French Dip and drain the chicken taco soup and use the beans and chicken. I hate to waste the whole soup! I have no idea if this will be good, but how bad can chips smothered in cheese be?!

Tuesday: Crispy Beef with Broccoli with brown rice

Wednesday: Breakfast Burritos (also carried over from last week… )

Thursday: Pretzel Chicken* with Sweet Potato Fries

Friday: Okay. Trying something new. I LOVE Cosmos in Tulsa and I finally tried their pizza. I was putting it off because it is on a baguette and for some reason baguette and pizza don’t sound so great BUT it was awesome. Plus less work for me in making the dough! I am going to get some fun toppings and let everyone make their own. (if you live in Tulsa and haven’t gone to Cosmo, go. Everything I have ordered there has been great!) Plus a surprise for Mikey, just because I love him.

Saturday: Going to a dinner auction at the school my mom teaches at and our alma mater

Sunday: Spring Fundraiser at Scott’s preschool, they are having activities for the kids, touch a truck and pizza

Two fried items in one week. Let’s all pray I don’t set the house on fire. Seriously.

*Pretzel Chicken

This is a Rachel Ray recipe, I think. Basically, crush pretzels, smoosh chicken around in it, heat a shallow pan of oil and fry. Easy peasy.

11 Responses to “Gettin’ Crafty”

  1. bethany Says:

    You should take up crackling! I crackled some letters for C’s nursery and they turned out super cute AND it was really easy! I’m going to do a picture frame and the glider next – Look out! I like those pom flowers – might have to give them a try.

  2. Courtney Says:

    Good luck! Can’t wait to see what projects you turn out! I’ve become a big “craft” fan lately; although, I’ve hardly done any myself (and I am 30!). I keep telling myself “i will do it, i will do it” but it just never seems to connect. Let me know if you find some good ones out there.

  3. Pam Says:

    Okay, this ought to be good! Remember the cloud on your bedroom wall when you took up painting? And then the frame you put around it!!!! I’m cracking up just thinking about it.

    Sorry, I’ll be more supportive. Go for it!!!!

  4. Cori Says:

    B- I saw that on your blog…. I don’t really have anything to crackle right now, BUT I bet I could find something! Actually, I was able to screw up crackling on our coffee table in CO.
    C-What projects are you doing??? Anything easy?
    Mom- I am laughing so hard right now! I totally forgot about my wall mural gone awry! Actually, I think Bethany was involved in that too!

  5. Liz Says:

    This time of year must just bring out the craftyness. I’ve been loading myself with projects. Have you ever watched Sandra Lee? I’m completely obsessed. She has amazing meal ideas.

  6. Kara Says:

    Let me know how the crafting goes!! I am looking for ideas for centerpieces for my wedding. I am needing something to put in the mason jars and those flowers might work!! I am really loving this one and am going to try it out this week to see how it looks

    http://www.oncewed.com/10489/diy-wedding/flowers/diy-tissue-paper-garden-wedding-centerpiece/

    • Cori Says:

      Cute idea! The ones I am going to make might go well with that! I will let you know! If they look good, I will help you make some for your wedding….

      • Kara Says:

        thanks!! I am trying to keep it as cheap as possible which means a lot of DIY. I am hoping the tissue paper branches turn out as cute as the picture…I am not as crafty as I would like to be. But some of those flowers would look great…I am doing the branch/mason jar on some tables and then old glass pop bottles with a single flower on some..so the pom pom flowers would be great for the pop bottles…I am trying to keep it very vintage chic to fit in with the location!

  7. Jennifer Says:

    Cori,
    get with me on the embroidery. super easy and fun!

  8. Faith Says:

    Embroidery can be as simple or as complex as you want, that’s a great place to start with crafting.
    I am teaching lots of stitches to my 7 yr old, but don’t do much myself (too busy doing things w/ my sewing machine – Haha!)

    My favorite places for crafting ideas are:
    oneprettything.com
    Martha Stewart (yeah, yeah, but her craft ideas online are superb)
    TipJunkie.com
    craftpad.com


Leave a Reply

