Katie Too

March 15, 2010

I feel like I have been on a life hiatus. Evie came in town last week somewhat last minute and was here Monday-Friday. It was, of course, so wonderful to see her and it, of course, flew by.

PS Thanks for feeding us all week Mom!

BUT before she got here… Look what I did!!!!

My first crafty project! The Pom Pom flowers turned out pretty cute. I think I made the poms a little big or maybe the sticks were a little to small, either way, they are a little out of proportion, but pretty cute! Next up embroidery….

THEN we took a 36 hr trip to KC to go to one of my very best friends baby shower and stayed at Great Wolf Lodge with the family of another best friend. At the shower we went around and introduced our selves, I got to say, that Bethany had been my friend for 18 years. First of all, I am old. Second of all, who has the same best friend for EIGHTEEN YEARS?! I was also teary eyed because this pregnancy has had it’s ups and downs and to see her healthy and happy brings joy to my heart. I got teary eyed because for the last eighteen years we have been by each others sides for the big events of life and this was one of the many (and her Kansas City friends are wonderful!). Then I got teary eyed after we got home from the trip thinking about another wonderful friend that has been dear to my heart for 11 years. Lifeguarding at Southern Hills in our classy (and by classy, I mean really two shades of shiny blue with a mesh strip between the boobs) Miss Jackson’s swim suits…fast forward eleven years…. Hanging out at Great Wolf with our husbands and a total of 5 kids in a swim suits from the Target sales rack. My how life changes…

We got back in town and 1 1/2 hour later guess who came to live with us?!?!

Only the cutest little boxer baby ever! Katie. Oh sweet Katie Too. She is a gem. She is four years old, loves the kids, has had no accidents and doesn’t get on furniture. We love her. She won’t even eat treats of the kids hands, she waits for them to set the treat down and the gobbles it up. We are all obsessed and she even has Mike baby talkin’ to her! We adopted her from Tulsa Boxer Rescue, if you are looking for a new dog go to them! We researched breeds and boxers are supposed to be the best with kids, shed the least, and be all around wonderful. They are very honest about the dogs personalities and truly want to get your family matched with the perfect dog. More pictures to come!

Well… I actually missed cooking last week. I know! I don’t even know myself! I think I am getting more homemakery as the years go by. I started out married life never cooking or cooking really bad burnt stuff (Mike, remember the fried eggplant?!) and having the nickname Hurricane. I would like to think I have improved, at least a little! I haven’t made it to the store yet because Katie’s crate didn’t arrive until late this afternoon and for the first time, I was able to look around the pantry and actually put together a decent dinner. I mean a real dinner, not eggs and pancakes which is usually my stand by. Do I sound like I am bragging? WELL I AM! I was pretty proud of myself.

Monday: Spanish Chicken Rice Bake

Tuesday: Broiled Tilapia Parmesan with some veg

Wednesday: Chimichangas (it isn’t Irish, but it is a different culture… does that count for something?) with salad

Thursday: Crockpot Teriyaki Chicken (I think I am going to serve with noodles instead of rice) and broccoli

Friday: Grill out Burgers and Veggies (I love the weather!)

Saturday: Grilled Bagel Sandwiches (everything bagels, turkey pastrami, guac, cheese and put on the George) with salad

Sunday: Leftovers

Phew… This took me a long time!

13 Responses to “Katie Too”

  1. Heidi Says:

    I’ve had the same best friend for 32 years. I’m not exaggerating. We met and became friends at the age of 4. Crazy.

    • Cori Says:

      YOU ARE 36?! I never would have guessed a day over 30!
      PS So sorry about your arm! I need to help you find some one armed recipes!

  2. Heidi Says:

    Congratulations on the dog! I’m happy for you!

  3. martha Says:

    that bagel sandwhich sounds delish!

  4. Emily Says:

    I feel your pain! I have been friends with Taryn since I was 4… 27 years.. AHHHHH!!!! we are old, we cannot help it!!! I love that you and Bethany are still friends, i still think of you both as the younger girls of the youth girl! most defiantly not grown up with families of your own!
    Glad you have what you are cooking blog back up! I needed inspiration last week and I looked to you… and was sad 😉

    • bethany Says:

      Emily I promise we have gotten more mature than we were back then. And we don’t wear those hideous combat boots any more. At least I don’t=)

      • Cori Says:

        Ummm…combat boots? No. More mature? Debatable!
        Also, I didn’t realize you and Taryn had been friends that long! Okay, we are all old!

  5. Carissa Says:

    Wiping the tears!!! I feel the exact same way. Here’s to ELEVEN wonderful years as having you for a bestie and at least fifty more! Can you imagine?!?! The good news is…when we are 80 and are still bestfriends, I am quite sure that we can still rock those Miss Jackson swimsuits (did you keep yours!?!?) because they will still be in style for 80 year olds then! Love you. Love Katie. Nash wants to see his girlfriend.

    • Cori Says:

      Don’t worry Nasherator…. She will wait for you.
      AND NO, I didn’t keep my swimsuit! Did you??? (if you did, I will have to make fun of you for the next fifty years!)

  6. bethany Says:

    I love you friend (& thank you for making me cry before 8 am )It meant the world to me to have you there. I love it that we have been friends for 18 years=) I can’t wait for Baby Hope to meet her aunt Cori!!

  7. Pam Says:

    Love this entry. You have good friends because you are a good friend. Katie is wonderful!


Leave a Reply

