The Talk

July 19, 2010

Well it happened. My non menu planning life style was noticed by my family. The show down went like this:

Mike: (not making eye contact, knowing I despise budget talks) Sooo, I was looking over our accounts and for the last couple of months, our food spending has been really high (I am way to embarrassed to give you actual numbers)

Me: Hmmmmm.

Mike: Why do you think that is?

Me: Well, I haven’t really been into cooking or meal planning lately.

Mike: Okay….do you think you could try to get into it?

Me: Not really.

Mike: (not amused)

Me: (not amused)

Truth be told. It is getting a little annoying going to the store 3 times a week and wandering aimlessly, so I am going to try. You know that saying, “Smile and you will become happy” (or something like that). I am trying, “Menu plan and you will actually enjoy meals.”

I have said it before, and I will say it again. I do NOT enjoy cooking. I do NOT enjoy planning for cooking. I do NOT enjoy cleaning up the mess that cooking makes. I do (oddly enough) enjoy grocery shopping with my kids. I enjoy eating. I enjoy eating other peoples home made food and I enjoy restaurants. So this is a forced labor of love.  Ugh.

So what sounds good when it is 5 million degrees out…. Nothing involving the oven for sure. Grilling? Crock pot? Cold food? Cosmos (the restaurant and the drink)?

Monday: Grilled Blackened Chicken Ceasar Salad

Tuesday: Maple Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin with Rice and Asparagus

Wednesday: Left over pizza from Sunday night with Salad

Thursday: Burgers and grilled veggies

Friday: Make your own sub with fruit salad

Saturday: out

Sunday: Sandwiches at pool

I would love any summer cooking recipes that you and your family enjoy!

I will leave you with my new song obsession (I love it and listen to it about 5 times a day… Mike loves to make fun of it):

Big City Life

8 Responses to “The Talk”

  1. bethany Says:

    WHAT!? Do my eyes betray me? Are you blogging again? Yipee! Your menu looks yummy! Unfortunately I won’t be cooking this week as I will be in Vail. SIgh. Oh well – good luck cooking in the heat. I will enjoy eating out in the amazing rocky mountains and crisp mountain air=)

  2. Heidi Says:

    Oh honey. I wish you lived next door still! I need a meal swapper bad! And I would LOOOOOVE to plan and cook for you. Don’t forget about my blog….at least the planning is done for you.

  3. Cori Says:

    Oh Bethany- I am so sorry you have to go to Vail instead of enjoying the heat of KC and to think… having to miss out on a week of cooking?! You poor thing.
    PS Give C a big fat kiss from her favorite aunt.

    Heidi- If we did a meal swap, I think you family would be HORRIFIED when it was my turn! You have wonderful recipes. One of my favorite that I make for every holiday and I am actually making Friday to take to friends is the chocolate pie. (I, of course, sub real pie crust… can’t make it too healthy ;))

  4. carissa Says:

    GASP! The budget talk! Since I am a good friend, I will act like I am mad at Mike for giving you a “budget talk.” However, secretly, I am praising him because it is the catalyst that has resumed your menu planning. And I hate to tell you, although I do look forward to reading your menus and hopefully trying some recipes in the future, it is just your commentary that I love to read…because you are freaking hilarious. I miss you by the way. Will our crazy lives ever allow us to see one another again? I am thinking shared babysitter one day next week so we can do a Wild For brunch again. Maybe torrential downpour won’t happen again since it’s July.

  5. Cori Says:

    C- You crack me up. I miss you way to much for someone who now leaves down the street (sort of)…. Brunch, shopping, Ihloff, we need to plan it before school starts.
    C
    PS I full expect you to be mad at Mike for the budget talk. You know I am ALWAYS right.
    PPS I meant to tell you last night, but it only took me 12 minutes to get to you house!!!

  6. maren Says:

    Cori-Glad to see you blogging again! It brightened my day! I love your writing style! I keep meaning to write and ask you if you’re familiar with http://www.e-mealz.com/ For $5 a month they actually do the planning for you for a month AND THE GROCERY LIST! You tell them what grocery store you shop at even! It’s worth checking out. I know half the struggle is making a plan (which I don’t do, but need to…) And I’ve been toying with that site forever, so thought I’d share!

  7. Cori Says:

    Thank you Maren! I had another girl suggest e mealz… I will definitely check it out! The girl who suggested it to me said to check out the low carb option and then just add your own carbs in if you want, but she felt like the regular meals had a lot of “bad” indgredients. Just FYI!

  8. maren Says:

    Oh, thanks, that’s great to know! I haven’t tried it yet, so hopefully if and when I do, I’ll keep that in mind!


Leave a Reply

