Awkward

January 10, 2011

So I just realized I never gave my official review of e-mealz (I was trying it out here). As Scott would say, “Awkward!” (that is his new randomly and inappropriately used word). I can see how it might be a useful service, but it wasn’t for me. To many cream of whatevers used and just flat out not good sounding meals. I know you have been holding your breath since August to hear my opinion, you may now breathe again.

I also just realized that I am way behind the curve and just discovered this Cooking Light website. Awkward! I have yet to actually make anything from this site,  but it all sounds wonderful (and they have all the nutritional info for each recipe).

FEED ME

Monday: Chicken (rotisserie chicken leftover from last week) Tacos and/or Nachos

Tuesday: Denise’s Delicious Soup*

Wednesday: Salmon Cakes and Cherry Tomato Cucumber Salad (I have left over pizza for back up)

Thursday: Breakfast for Dinner (I got this and I am going to try it with my Star War’s pancake molds from Williams Sonoma that I was too cheap to by the coordinating pancake squirter thing for that I now regret because it is impossible to spoon the batter into the damn molds)

Friday: Slow Cooker Char Siu Pork Roast with Rice and Veggies (I will admit one of the reasons I picked this is that is sounds fancy)

Saturday: OUT

Sunday: Pizza Movie Night

*Denise’s Delicious Soup

This recipe is (obviously) stolen from my friend Denise. I love it. I made it and ate it daily. Really love it. And it’s easy.

Denise is fancy and doesn’t measure (I know, the nerve!) so she gave me ingredients and I started just guessed.

1 lb lean ground beef cooked with one onion chopped, a couple of tablespoons of chopped garlic and cumin (I just dumped about 2 tbls in)

1 can corn drained

1 can green beans drained

chopped celery

chopped carrot

chopped potato (about 5 small red)

Parsely

Thyme

Basil

Pepper

(I used basil and 3 bay leaves…. it was all I had)

Put the veggies into meat and add equal parts of beef broth and tomato JUICE until it is the consistency you like your soup. I like less liquid and I think I added 3 cups of tomato juice and 3 or 4 cups of broth.

ENJOY and Thank you Denise!

PS This is totally off the subject BUT I watched the Vanilla Ice Project. Aaannd it was as Vanilla Icey as I was hoping. It was kind of boring. My favorite part was when Vanilla says, “This is what I do when I am NOT on tour.” Ummmm, so all the time?

6 Responses to “Awkward”

  1. Lainee Says:

    I am going to make that soup!YUM!!!

    Try the disposable decorating bags for the pancakemix! Works great and cheap!

  2. alayna Says:

    i LOVE cooking light! i get their magazine each month. they
    have great recipes. hope you like it!

  3. Cori Says:

    Thank you Lainee, great idea!
    Alayna- Are there different recipes than what is online?

  4. Liz Taylor Says:

    I’m glad you posted this, I need to cancel my e-mealz
    subscription. I haven’t used it in months!

  5. bethany Says:

    I LOVE my cooking light subscription!! It has so many super delicious recipes!


  6. […] Denise’s Delicious Soup (I am going to change it up and put it in the crock pot with stew meat instead of ground […]


Leave a comment