Little White Lies

February 14, 2011

10 years ago today I ditched the guy I was actually dating to hang out with Mike. I remember saying to Mike, “I just am not ready for the commitment of going out with him for Valentine’s Day… I mean that means you are like REALLY dating.” To which my good friend Mike replied, “Just come hang out with me, I’ll make you spaghetti.” I called the guy at 3 o’clock in the afternoon to tell him I wasn’t feeling well. He showed up at my apartment with a huge bouquet of flowers that he had already bought. I am not a liar, I am not even a little white liar. I am tell the truth whether or not it hurts kinda girl.  But I totally wrapped up in a blanket and tried to look sickly when I answered the door. The day after Valentine’s Day I told him the truth and broke up with him. Six weeks later Mike and I were engaged and five months later we were married.  The best little white lie ever.

Let’s Eat

Okay, before we move on to this week’s food, can we just chat a bit about how gross my food from last week was…. The Chinese Cheese Burgers=Gross. What the what was I thinking? They got great reviews on allrecipes.com, I followed said recipe and they were bad news ballet. The Chipotle Orange Taco’s from the pioneer woman’s site= also Gross and also got great reviews. They were tolerable, but I repeat do NOT make the Chinese Cheese Burgers.

On a good note, the Egg Drop Soup was so good and so easy and felt super fancy to make. I also ended up making Sloppy Joe’s from a Whole Foods seasoning mix on leftover night, since we obviously weren’t eating anything I had already made and they were great!

Monday: Valentine Dinner with the kids… Spaghetti (Mike’s favorite) Crab Legs (Scott’s favorite) Bread (Nate’s Favorite) Dessert (My favorite)

Tuesday: Grilled Cheese Sandwiches and Tomato Soup

Wednesday: Blackened Mahi Mahi, Rice, Veggies (didn’t end up making the other week)

Thursday: Grilling out Kabobs it is going to be 74 degrees!

Friday: Out

Saturday: Date Night

Sunday: Pizza Movie Night

PS This is a pic of our Sunday night Valentine Calazone Movie Night… Impressive, No?  

Valentine Calazone

 

4 Responses to “Little White Lies”

  1. maren Says:

    So, ya’ll were Juniors in college when you got together? I wondered about that seeing how you weren’t a couple when I graduated from WCA..did you go to the same college? How fun–you didn’t waste any time, eh?

  2. bethany Says:

    this just makes me smile=) I remember the phone call after valentines day and i remember the phone call when yall got engaged. But I never heard about you wrapping up in a blanket to pretend to be sick…love it!

    Glad you told that little lie!

  3. Martha Says:

    You two are perfect for each other, and it looks like you found that out for yourselves just in time :).

  4. carissa Says:

    I love that story. And like I have said a million times, I would just like to say, for the record, that Bethany Bell and Carissa Crosby TOTALLY called you guys getting together AND getting married.

    And no worries, I won’t be trying the Chinese Cheese Burgers. I feel that anything that uses “Chinese” and “Cheese” in the same title can’t be a good thing. I don’t think I’ve ever had a Chinese dish with cheese in it now that I think of it. Those calzones freakin rock though!


Leave a Reply

