Eye Contact

March 17, 2011

One of the things I love about getting older is how my views and opinions shape and form to become more mine. I feel like every year I become more and more me. Things I thought to be important and held close slowly begin to change, in a good way. I care less and less about who thinks what about me and more how I think about myself.

As I get older, things also get more real. Friends lose parents. Friends get cancer. Friends lose babies. Friends have babies who have cancer. Friends get divorced. Friends face infertility, job loss, infidelity, and uncertainty about everything they knew to be true. I think these things can either cause you to turn away and be thankful you aren’t that person or face them full on and feel the pain along with them. I would definitely say I have been more of a turn away type person in the past. It is easier that way. It is easier not to ask “how are you” because you might not like the answer. But then it starts getting closer to you. It isn’t just that friend of a friend of a friend. All of the sudden it is your best friend. It is the mom in your mom’s group that has a two year old that has completed chemo. It is the strong beautiful women you know that are raising children while fighting for their lives. I don’t know if I am getting older or cancer is getting much younger. It becomes harder to tsk and say, “That poor family.” I am not perfect, but I have tried to start to face these life altering moments with the people I know head on. To bring dinner, to say a prayer, to hold a hand, to tell a beautiful woman that she is still so beautiful.

Everyone goes through stuff, and when it is my turn, I want people to ask me how I am.

5 Responses to “Eye Contact”

  1. Martha Says:

    This was beautiful Cori, as are you.

  2. Sarah L Says:

    Very well said! I need to be better too.

  3. Sara Says:

    Cori, an encouraging and inspiring statement. It brought tears to my eyes.

  4. carissa Says:

    Beautiful. So many things that you wrote touched me, spoke to me. And just so you know, one of the many things that I love about you is that you are that person…the strong, amazing supportive friend who isn’t afraid to make eye contact. The one who is there in the good times AND the bad. Anyone who calls you friend is blessed beyond measure. I count myself blessed to be in that group. Love you Cori Bandy Lyon.

    Yep, C.C. just went and got all emotional on ya! 🙂

  5. bethany Says:

    I can’t believe I forgot to comment on this on our run. Seriously an inspirational post friend. Thanks. You have 100% been that friend for me the past year. As someone who has been on the other side of the eye contact, I can tell you how refreshing it is to have someone go there and ask how you “really” are.

    Love you girl.


Leave a Reply

