Happy 42nd!

March 24, 2011

I went through about a 10 year phase where I kept thinking my mom was turning 42 (embarrassingly, I was over 13). Finally in college, some one said, “Wow, your mom must have been really young when she had you!” Me : “No, she was 27.” Weird looks followed. That is when it dawned on me I should learn my mom’s actual age.

Today is my beautiful mother’s birthday.

My favorite family pic of all time.

(tell me my sister is not the cutest kid you have ever seen)

My mother has given me so many gifts over my life. As a young child, she gave me unconditional love. I have never once doubted that her love, ever.  When I went to school, she gave me courage. Courage to step out of my comfort zone. To look adults in the eye, to make new friends, to raise my hand. To stand up for myself. As I entered the awkward years, she gave me self confidence. She taught me that I was beautiful and strong. She taught me that I was worthy of the best. As a teenager, she gave me compassion. She taught me that I was not the center of the world. That there are people hurting and that it my responsibility to do what I can to ease that pain. In college she gave me endurance. Leaving home was hard. She tip toed the line perfectly between giving me the reassurance that I can always come home and teaching me that sometimes life is hard and you have to tough it out. In marriage and motherhood, she has given me a combination of strength and respite. I think one of the greatest gifts she has given me is humor. She has taught me to laugh as myself, to laugh at life and to do it loudly.

I have a million hilarious stories about my mom, one of my favorites was when I was 7 or 8 and went out to play with my next door neighbor and had the following converstaion:

Neighbor: Is everything ok with your mom?

Me: Yea, what do you mean?

Neighbor: We could hear her yelling last night all the way from inside your house to inside our house.

Me: OH! She was laughing really hard. She laughs REALLY loud.

Those of you who know her, know exactly what I am talking about!

I wish for her birthday I could get her a gift that would come close to what she has given me.

4 Responses to “Happy 42nd!”

  1. bethany Says:

    Love this post!! Your mom is an awesome woman and has taught you so many incredible life lessons! I hope I can be just as good as a mom to my daughter!

    And I totally agree about the laugh!! It’s infectious!!

    Happy Birthday Pam!

  2. Liz Says:

    That’s really sweet!

  3. carissa Says:

    Love this post. Love that picture. Happy Birthday Pam Bandy!!!

  4. Pam Says:

    Thank you Cori! You made me cry. You have given me so much more. I love you and am so grateful for your kind words. As a parent, I’m so proud!


Leave a Reply

