Kinda Happy Kinda Sad

May 19, 2011

Me: Scott, how do you feel about school almost being out?

Scott: Well, I am kinda happy and I am kinda sad. I am happy because I will get to do lots of fun stuff with you and Nate. I am sad because I will miss my friends.

Me: Me too buddy. I am kinda happy and kinda sad.

It is surreal that tomorrow is his last day of preschool. Forever. I am so excited for summer. I love summer anyway, but this summer feels extra special because in August everything changes. I am kinda happy about the changes and kinda sad. Not to get all Lifetime movieish, but I just want to soak it all in this summer. I don’t want to rush any where. I want to read books all morning, go on adventures in the afternoon, eat dinner as a family, play outside past bedtime and go to bed tired. I feel pretty lucky that those are my main goals for the summer.

I made this list randomly the other day as a things-to-do-when-we-feel-like-we-have-nothing-to-do days. I am on the fence about camping. I could be talked into it….maybe. Same with #4. I KID. I think church has been on my to do list for about 3 yrs. I like to just keep it there constantly taunting me than to actually do something about .

Lastly, this is the most hilarious paragraph to ever be written. I crack up every time I read it to the kids.

4 Responses to “Kinda Happy Kinda Sad”

  1. Jessica Says:

    my little one is starting kindergarten in the fall also. It makes me sad and we have lots planned to do this summer to savor it before he grows up and wont kiss his mama anymore. Have fun camping, not sure if i could do it 🙂

  2. Sarah L. Says:

    I feel / have felt “kinda happy kinda sad” about a lot of Reese’s milestones. I’m sure I will be a mess when she is ready for school!

    I can totally relate to Lily, the yellow ranger 🙂 I’ve got some mad hip hop moves!


  3. I just wrote the longest comment ever then my internet screwed up. Guess that’s a sign from the blogging gods that my comments was too long? I’ll shorten…
    1. Call if you need a good momma cry. You know I am equally emotional about school year endings because it means they will be a year older.

    2. The Miller’s want in on the Driller’s Game and possibly Oxley Nature Park. We’re gonna tap out on the camping though! Good luck with that! 🙂


Leave a Reply

