Fried Egg and Boy Mom

July 17, 2011

We tried to fry an egg on the street this week. It didn’t work, but we had fun watching it and discussing how IF it does fry, how will we peel it off the ground and eat it with out eating gravel. 

I “learned” how to sew. For my birthday, I asked for a sewing machine and a weekly sewing lesson from my mom. My mom is letting me use her old machine and after my first lesson I decided to attempt my first project. Project Sundress. I sewed the armholes shut. TWICE. I will embrace my seam ripper and forge ahead. 

 We also had this gem of a convo in the car:

(we had been talking about job’s and working and why I don’t go to work and Mike said, “Your mom is a very hard worker. Staying at home and taking care of our family is the hardest job around.”)

Nate: When I get to be a grown up and I have babies, I want to be a mom at home too. Because mom’s at home work really hard.

Scott: You can’t be a mom. You’re a boy. 

Nate: When I grow up I want to be a mom.

Scott: You are always a boy. When you grow you will be a dad.

Me (attempting to be pc): Well, maybe when Nate grows up he will be a dad that stays at home with his kids.

Scott: If Nate stays at home instead of working, his family won’t have any money. And then they won’t have food and clothes (and a million other things)

Me: Wellll, maybe Nate will stay at home and be a dad and Nate’s wife will go to work.

Stunned Silence (we obviously have a super diverse group of friends that embrace all sorts of different lifestyles)

Mike: NO NO NO… The boys in our family go to work. Boys, do you hear me? Lyon boys go to work. There is nothing wrong with other dads staying at home, but you will work. 

Scott and Nate: YEA!

Mike: Repeat after me…. WHEN I GROW UP, I WILL GO TO WORK. I WILL WORK HARD. I AM A LYON AND I WILL WORK.

Scott and Nate from the back seat: I WILL WORK! WOOHOO! I AM A LYON BOY! 

Let the brain washing begin.

PS I also figured out how to use my instagram app. I am obsessed.

One Response to “Fried Egg and Boy Mom”

  1. bethany Says:

    LOVE this post for so many different reasons.
    1) I can totally picture the above story.
    2) that dress pic? priceless?
    3) I’m ready to live next door to each other.


Leave a Reply

