Kindergarten Snapshots

October 5, 2011

Because Scott’s kindergarten teacher is capital A to the Awesome… She texts or emails me a picture of him doing his classroom thing every week. I used to pretend that Scott is her favorite and that she only does this for me, but then I realized that on group pics I wasn’t the only email address in the “to” box. It’s cool though, I am sure he is in the top 16.

Week 1 ("Sooo, I guess kindergarten is ok....")

Week 2

Week 3

Week 4

Week 5 (first field trip!)

PS After about two weeks of school, Mrs. Mayfield called and said that Scott was having a hard time and getting teary eyed through out the day. Super mom and dad had NO IDEA. He only talked about how much he loved school. We started giving him a daily love note to put in his pocket and when he starts missing us or feeling sad, he can put his hand in his pocket and know we love him and we will see him soon. It has worked like a charm! All that to say, the pictures in which he has his hand in his pocket break my heart and make me proud at the same time. New experiences are hard…. He is brave and strong and got through it.

6 Responses to “Kindergarten Snapshots”

  1. bethany Says:

    I love Scott in his handsome clothes! And seriously – what an awesome teacher!!

  2. Allison Says:

    That’s pretty cool that she sends pictures to you once a week. Very reassuring and I love the love note idea.

  3. Carissa Says:

    1. I am jealous that you get pictures texted to you throughout the day and will now be petitioning Michael Miller For a transfer to metro bc I WANT PICTURE TEXTS TOO!
    2. You are an amazing mom.
    3. I cried at the love note and then the pictures of him with his hands in his pocket.
    4. You are an amazing mom.
    5. I want picture texts too! Oh wait, I already said that.

  4. maren Says:

    The pictures with his hand in his pocket melted my heart–they are absolutely priceless, Cori.What a fabulous idea–will keep that one in my back pocket (hahah!) Seriously, though, will remember!

  5. Pam Says:

    I remember Scott’s mom doing the same thing! Broke my heart. Wish I would have thought of the love note. You’re a great Mom, Cori. I’m proud of you.

  6. Meg Says:

    I love the note idea.


Leave a Reply

